Soon, you will be asked to complete these steps to successfully meet the new system requirements for online security. We want you to be aware of the screens that you will see and what you will be asked to complete ahead of time. If you have any concerns — now or when we go live, please don’t hesitate to contact us. We’re here to help you every step of the way.
When these security enhancements go live, when you login you will see the following screen:
Step 1: Update password (if needed)
- If you have a password that has not been updated since the new password requirements were introduced last July, you will be prompted to update your password.
- A password strength meter and list of requirements will guide you through this process.
- The following screen will appear to get you started:
Step 2: Provide a valid email address and phone number
- If you have an email address on file, it will appear on the screen (as shown below) and you will be prompted to validate that the address is current — or have the opportunity to update it.
- If you don’t have an email address on file, you will be required to provide one.
- The validation process will also require you to provide a current phone number and indicate whether or not it is a mobile phone number.
Step 3: Validate email address
- If you have an email address that has been on file for more than two years, you will be prompted to validate that the address is current and active by clicking a link sent to your email account.
- That link expires in 24 hours and you will be unable to continue until you’ve clicked on the link.
Step 4: Set up two-step verification
- You will see the screen below and be prompted to choose how you want to receive security codes: by email, text message or phone call.
- You will also be given the choice of when to receive codes — every time you log in or only when you log in from an unrecognized device.
- After selecting a preference, you will receive a test code to verify that it works.
- Once completed, you will be prompted to use two-step verification when logging in to your account from an unrecognized device.